Three new independent board members have been appointed

As part of the response to the mid-term review, the Board is transitioning towards skills-based governance for the Centre. Three new independent board members have been appointed.

The Centre is pleased to welcome:


Meika Foster, Independent Board Member, who brings experience in nutrition, food safety, law, future foods, mataūranga Māori and business enterprise


Greg McCullough, Independent Board Member, who brings knowledge of food safety regulation, industry and business, as well as experience in the dairy industry


Catherine Richardson, Independent Board Member, who brings extensive industry and governance experience, food safety experience and deep knowledge of the horticultural sector


These roles will formally commence on 1 January 2020. Greg McCullough is currently serving on the board as an industry member; his current role will cease as of 31 December 2019 and his new role will commence in January next year.

The Centre is grateful to current board members Neil Smith and Sonia Whiteman, for their significant contributions and leadership. Their terms conclude at the end of the year.

There will be a further new appointee to the board when the yet-to-be formed Industry Advisory Group (IAG) appoints its representative.. A further new member will be appointed at the end of May 2020 when the current chair, Dr Kevin Marshall, comes to the end of his second term and so will not be eligible to be reappointed as chair.

News Home